5 IT Security Certifications That Will Take Your Career Overseas

IT security certification is now a must-have, especially for those of you working in the cybersecurity field .

Actually, the types of IT security certification are very diverse. Most of these IT security certifications focus on networking and protection, of course at different levels.

What you need to remember is that each IT security certification has a specific purpose. Certainly, IT security certification must be adjusted to its designation.

So, it’s a good idea before you choose an IT security certification, it’s important to make sure if the IT security certification you are taking is accredited and aligned with the targeted career goals.

So that you are not curious about the various types of IT security certification, below we have summarized five IT security certifications that you can take, see the full explanation.

IT Security Certification Recommendations

1. CEH: Certified Ethical Hacker

The first IT security certification is CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker). CEH’s IT security certification is one of the levels of certification offered by the EC-Council .

EC-Council itself is a certification body in the field of cyber security. CEH is arguably the most popular type of IT security certification. This is because the series of lessons taught in CEH are very unique.

In CEH, you are taught how to become a hacker. But the difference is, you will be taught to be a hacker who has ethics and does not aim to harm others.

CEH’s IT security certification is highly recommended, especially if you already have experience in IT security and work as a security auditor, security administrator, as well as in various other fields.

2. Comptia Security+

The next IT security certification is Comptia Security+. This IT security certification tests expertise and knowledge in the field of computer security.

The owner of this IT security certification will have a deeper understanding of the principles and basic concepts of computer security, both locally and within the network scope.

It can be said, if you have this certification, then you have prepared yourself to become a professional in the field of IT security.

 3. CHFI: Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator

Furthermore, this IT security certification is held by the EC-Council, which offers a training program and at the same time the Certified Hacking Forensics Investigator (CHFI) international certification exam.

This IT security certification studies identification techniques for the occurrence of a crime involving a computer system.

In fact, these computer investigative techniques can also be used by police agencies, governments, and global corporate entities to collect evidence and conduct analysis of evidence of crimes.

The purpose of collecting this evidence is to show it in court as a basis for arresting and criminalizing computer criminals.

4. CND: Certified Network Defender

Furthermore, the EC-Council certification body also launched an IT security certification named CND (Certified Network Defender).

The launch of this IT security certification is based on companies’ focus on cyber defense which is much deeper than before.

Companies are more aware, if a cyber breach can cause a huge financial impact and will cause damage to a company’s reputation.

In fact, even though protection measures have been taken, many companies are still victims of cyber breaches.

That is why, a company must have network engineers who are trained and focused on protecting, detecting, and responding to threats on their network as a defense method.

By taking CND’s IT security certification, you will gain a detailed understanding and have skills that can be used in real life involving defense networks.

You can also gain the necessary technical depth to actively design secure networks within your organization.

5. CISA: Certified Information Systems Auditor

One of the IT security certifications that you can also take is CISA. This IT security certification is held by ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association).

The CISA IT security certification has been going on since 1978. The first CISA exam arrangements were held in 1981, and the number of applicants continues to grow each year, reaching nearly 60,000 auditors.

Prospective participants who will take part in the CISA IT security certification must pass a written exam, then must agree to the ISACA Professional Ethics rules, submit evidence of at least five years of professional experience in the field of auditing, control, or IT security and others.

After passing the CISA IT security certification, you will be required to have specific readiness and also adequate experience in the field of information system auditing.

In addition, the CISA IT security certification is recognized internationally. The owner of this IT security certification is considered a professional with knowledge, skills, experience and credibility, so that he is able to provide more value to the company.

Is it necessary to have an IT Security Certification?

Maybe you are still wondering, is it necessary to take an IT security certification? Can it have a positive impact on you personally, both in terms of career advancement, income, awards and so on?

You know, taking a certification is very useful. At least there are a number of things that you can get if you take an IT security certification program, including:

a. Administrative Requirements

Currently, there are many institutions that apply certain personnel qualification requirements. One of them is the recognition of the competencies obtained.

After going through the IT security certification exam that you have passed and passed, you will be recognized as having the minimum competencies required through the exam.

b. Wide Open Job Opportunities

If you have an IT security certification, it is very likely that you will get greater job opportunities, with the competence you have.

For example, in recruiting an IT security consultant, of course the company will carry out a screening process, and one of the items requested is a list of the consultant’s competencies.

By having a security certification with a good reputation, of course the sales value of the consultant will be higher than a consultant who only relies on names.

So do not be surprised if several international companies start placing certain qualifications in their job advertisements.

c. Get Better Compensation

Then, after you take an IT security certification, of course there is a great chance that an organization or company will appreciate competence in the field of IT security.

d. Career Opportunities Abroad

Furthermore, if you have an international class IT security certification, your opportunities for a career abroad will certainly be very wide open.

This is because the majority of foreign companies or organizations will have more confidence in your international competence, compared to your colleagues who only rely on names.

That’s why, don’t regret that you didn’t take the IT security certification as explained earlier. This is because the world of IT security in the future is increasingly wide open, and there are great opportunities for Indonesian IT security personnel to be able to compete and have careers abroad.